The Blog

I think it is a good idea to outline what the intended purpose of this blog is right here on the first entry. This is both for myself and for any potential readers (see how optimistic I am, thinking that there will be readers), but if I am going to be honest it is mostly for myself. I have been an avid reader for as long as I can remember, from trolling the middle school library for all the S.E. Hinton and Madeline L’Engle I could find, to discovering the classics in high school, to devouring all the available A Song of Ice and Fire installments in a mere two months, reading has always been something that I have loved. Now it should be said that I love popular culture in general, movies, television, podcasts, video games, I have been known to indulge in them all. I see the value in and genuinely enjoy each of those mediums, but reading fiction gives me a sense of enjoyment above and beyond the others. The pleasure I get from a really good novel just cannot be compared to anything else.

Now what does this have to do with a blog? I believe that most readers deep down somewhere in their little souls would like to be writers. Some may argue with this point and say that one can enjoy reading without ever holding a desire to write. I find this unlikely. If you find true enjoyment from reading the thought  has to have crossed your mind that someone made this, the words, the characters, the story they all came from someone’s mind. That has to inspire something in you. In me it brings forth the idea, if they did it, why can’t I? Obviously it is a big jump from beginning to blog to writing a novel. In fact, it may not be a jump at all, or at the very least a horizontal one, because blog writing and fiction writing are different forms. But I have repeatedly heard that if you want to write you have to just do it. Write something, anything, just flex those muscles! As my high school choir director used to say, “Practice doesn’t make perfect, it makes permanent”. So my goal with this blog is exactly that. To flex my writing muscles and hope that through practice, I can make writing a permanent aspect of my life.

That is the ‘why’ of the blog, so how about the ‘what’. What should a beginning writer write about? Well they should write about what they know, of course! As was hinted at above, I consume a lot of pop culture (I do also interact with real, live humans, I promise). It is something I think about and discuss frequently with friends. I even record some of these thoughts in the form of a podcast (a separate entry on that later). Why not take the logical leap and write about it too? I am already out there verbally expressing my thoughts and ideas about pop culture so why not add the written word to the equation. So that is what this blog will mostly entail, a mix of reviews, reactions, essays, etc. about films, television, video games, podcasts, and of course books. It should be noted that I am not a critic (but really what is a critic other than someone who consumes a lot of something and is therefore an “expert”). However, I do consume a fair amount of each of these mediums and I definitely have lots of thoughts about the things I listen to, watch and read. Pop culture it is something I know, and so it will be the ‘what’ of my writing.

So that’s it, that is what the purpose of this blog is: to write. To write about pop culture, hopefully a lot, and in the process hone my writing skills. I hope for it to be interesting, perhaps even funny sometimes, but mostly I hope for it simply to be, to exist somewhere as proof of my desire to write. Because that is what it is all about, after all. The avid reader who just wants to be a writer.
Note: I started writing some entries long before I actually started the blog, so there may be some references to time which don’t quite fit (in one I mention that it is the midseason break for television, which it clearly has long since ended). I wanted to be prepared so I wrote some entries in advance. Entries will be current going forward (hopefully).

Leave a Reply

