Writing class!

I did it! I signed up for a Community Ed writing class. I did a lot of writing in college and more recently with this blog, but I think I could use some fine tuning. So I signed up for a class called: The Lost Art of Personal Writing. I attended the first class last Monday, and I have to say I am pretty excited about it. The class size was small, the teacher was exactly how I would picture a writing teacher (green corduroy blazer, glasses, white hair and beard), and we wrote with pens and notebooks (pens and notebooks!!!). We even shared what we wrote, which will be common throughout the course, and I actually wasn’t freaked out about it. This was incredibly surprising to me, in a good way. I enjoyed the writing of my fellow students and I think I will learn a lot from them as well as from the instructor. I think this will be very good for me and I am really looking forward to the next class.

We are going to be covering a lot of writing styles from journals to memoir, poetry to short stories. I am going to share some of my writings/progress here. One of the exercises the teacher had us do was write a list of one word descriptors for ourselves. We had three minutes. Here is what I came up with:

Reader

Feminist

Glasses

Friend

Introvert

Sister

Inquistive

Lazy

Pop culture obsessed (not one word, I know)

Quiet

Loud

Learner

Foodie

Lost

Woman

That’s all for now, more next week!

Leave a Reply

